Enjoy this special flair in the middle of Europe with us and don't miss these tips, sights & destinations!
The most beautiful collections
Experience nature in Görlitz
Immerse yourself in nature, whether alone or with the family, here you will find the green places.
Discover more
  • goerlitz.de
    goerlitz.de
    Die Seele baumeln lassen
    Görlitz
    Ochsenzwinger
    The entrance gate to the Ochsenzwinger is marked by the remains of the once mighty Ochsenbastei. This estimated a secondary exit from the city and consisted of two interconnected bastions, through which a gate allowed the passage and especially the cattle drive from the pastures (now the city park) and to the slaughterhouse located outside the city at the mouth of the Lunitz. In 1834, the bastion facing the Neisse River and the gate were demolished for traffic reasons.Today, the tower is a meeting place for the Interessengemeinschaft Denkmalpflege e.V. The garden opens after the staircase with the fountain terrace. This part of the Ochsenzwinger was created as a garden in baroque design between 1962 and 1963 according to the plans of the then garden director Henry Kraft and with the gratuitous help of the citizens of Görlitz within the framework of the National Reconstruction Program. The restoration, which was in keeping with the preservation order, was completed in 1999. Six fountain basins stand between the inner and outer city wall and form the creative center of the complex with inserted ornamental beds. The ornaments on the beds result from the planting of edelgamander and boxwood. The fountain terrace of the Ochsenzwinger is the only green space in Görlitz that was modeled on the Baroque style. From the adjacent square to the south and somewhat higher, one looks back over the fountain terrace to St. Peter's Church. A narrow staircase leads to the upper terrace. The open space, created in the 1960s, underwent a deliberate contemporary redesign in 2000. Spatially framed by a pergola along the south, east and north sides, the visitor is first offered a view of the magnificent courtyard facades of Kränzelstraße. An olive willow grows in the lowered area; together with the perennial bed surrounding it and the small lemon trees and decorative lilies that have been set up, it is intended to convey a southern flair. The design of the upper terrace was honored by the Association of German Landscape Architects in May 2001.The landscaped southern part of the garden adjoins the fountain terrace. Here, various woody plants and perennials alternate with lawns and seating areas. The striking columnar oaks and yews date from Henry Kraft's time. Towards the east, a view opens up to the striking facade of the Jacob Böhme House on the Polish bank. A few steps away is another fortified tower, the Swedish Ensign. Its name commemorates the Swedish Ensign Löst, who in 1641 unsuccessfully defended a neighboring tower, which was destroyed, against the imperial troops. Further on, you get to the exit Bergstraße, and via Jakob-Böhme Straße back to the city center.
  • goerlitz.de
    goerlitz.de
    Ausblick genießen an der Friedenshöhe
    Görlitz
    Friedenshöhe
    The Görlitz administrative reports show that in 1858 the "extension of the facilities on the slope of the Obermühlberg above the Neisse viaduct" took place. The viaduct had been built in the years 1844 to 1847 with material from the quarry of the nearby Limasberg (Königshain/Liebstein), the blockhouse in 1855. It was supposed to serve military purposes at the bridgehead of the viaduct, but proved unsuitable for this purpose. Time had overtaken it. So it soon became an excursion restaurant for the people of Görlitz and their guests. The name "Friedenshöhe" for the lookout point in front of the blockhouse commemorates the end of the Franco-Prussian War in 1871, in which Prince Friedrich Karl, nephew of the later Emperor Wilhelm I, took part as commander, as well as in the German-German War that ended in 1866. It was not until 1891 that the monument to Prince Frederick Charles of Prussia was erected on the plateau on the Neisse side in front of the building. Like many bronze monuments, it was sacrificed in 1942 to the armaments industry for the Second World War. The sculpture is said to have been the only monument to this commander in all of Germany. Its creator was Franz Ochs (1852 - 1903), who was also involved in the realization of the design of the "Mussel Minna" by Toberentz in 1886/87. In the following years, information about redesigns and improvements of the lots at the blockhouse, the square and the plants at the blockhouse appear again and again, the last time in 1940. We have no knowledge of plans. In 1952, the Görlitz garden director Henry Kraft designed the redesign of the Friedenshöhe, now the part of the grounds just southeast of the blockhouse: on the northwest side, above the railroad tracks, a pergola invites visitors to linger; in front of it are beds with perennials and summer flowers. In the mid-fifties of the 20th century, the three approximately life-size cast stone figure groups of the Bautzen artist Rudolf Enderlein (1908 - 1985) were installed there: girl with tomcat, boy with cat, boy with dachshund. Around a large meadow sparsely covered with copses, paths lead in a gentle curve in the direction of the Neisse River and connect to the vineyards. A revision and addition to the Friedenshöhe took place in 1965, but there were no fundamental changes compared to the situation in 1952. The current state is the result of a repair, which took place in 2003.
  • © 2024 urbnups UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
    Apple App StoreGoogle Play Store